Honey Rye Waffles

Last year I lived off of Eggo waffles. Whole wheat Eggo waffles to be exact. This year, however, in my quest to eat more whole foods and make most of my dietary staples at home, I decided to cook my own waffles and freeze them. In theory, this was more than a great idea. In practice though, it meant finding a suitable whole grain waffle recipe. Not the easiest thing to do in the recipe world seemingly deplete of whole grains.

But folks, I have found the whole grain waffle recipe that I will use for the rest of my life. The recipe I will memorize from making it so many times. The recipe my children will learn and love.

With my freezer waffle barren it was time to begin the search for yet another waffle recipe. I was immediately drawn to Kim Boyce’s Good to the Grain, a beautiful cookbook filled with recipes that use an array of whole grains. I had previously strayed away from such grains under the impression that any flour other than all-purpose and whole wheat would be difficult to obtain. I found myself very very very wrong when wandering through the nearby Whole Foods I stumbled upon an aisle containing nearly every flour under the sun. So, this time when Boyce’s whole grain waffle called for amaranth flour, I didn’t shy away but rather made a grocery list and walked the couple blocks to Whole Foods.

Unfortunately, amaranth flour was a whooping nine dollars for a tiny bag. Not about to pay that much I opted for rye flour, which I knew Heidi at 101 Cookbooks used as the central flour in her multigrain waffles. The next morning I whipped up a batch of these waffles substituting the rye flour for amaranth and olive oil for butter. The hot, steaming, gorgeously browned waffles topped with a dollop of Greek yogurt and farmer’s market bought raspberry rhubarb jam made for probably the best homemade breakfast any college student has eaten in a long time. These waffles were so good in fact, I think I might even be able to convince my whole-grain resistant dad to dig in to a plate. Now that, is saying something.

Honey Rye Waffles

adapted from Good to the Grain by Kim Boyce with a little inspiration from this recipe at 101 Cookbooks

As mentioned, I substituted rye flour for amaranth flour and olive oil for butter. My reasoning for the flour was purely cost driven. In terms of the fat, to be quite honest, my reasoning was laziness. My apartment does not have a microwave and instead of pulling out a pot to melt the butter on the stove I opted for an already liquid fat form, olive oil. While the results were delicious, you can chose to return to Boyce’s original recipe if desired, which too will doubtlessly produce an astounding outcome.

Makes about 10 waffles 

¼ cup rye flour

¼ cup flaxseed meal

1 cup whole-wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon kosher salt

2 cups buttermilk

¼ cup plus 2 tbsp honey

2 eggs

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon butter, for the waffle iron

Greek yogurt, optional

Jam, optional

Turn the waffle iron to its highest setting. (Even if you don’t usually heat it this high, these waffles come out best when cooked at high heat.) Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl, pouring back into the bowl any bits of grain or other ingredients that may remain in the sifter.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, honey, eggs, and olive oil until thoroughly combined. Using a spatula add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and gently combine. The batter will begin to bubble and swell as the baking soda begins to react with the buttermilk.

Generously coat the waffle iron with butter. Using a ladle or measuring cup scoop the batter onto the iron and promptly close. Remove the waffle with a fork when the indicator light shows that it is done and the waffle is a dark golden-brown, about 4 to 6 minutes. Repeat with the remaining batter.

Serve right off the griddle with a spoonful of Greek yogurt and jam, if desired.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast and Brunch, Main Dishes

3 responses to “Honey Rye Waffles

  1. Jess, Glad to see you’re back! Keep up the delicious details. Looks great!!
    Chris Tighe
    streamingcheese.com

  2. Pingback: Overnight Oatmeal | the Apartment Baker

Leave a Reply

