Roasted Baby Carrot Wraps with Spiced Cream

This week people slowly began trickling back to campus and what better way is there to catch up than over some eggs, flour, and sugar. And so I found myself in the kitchen with a friend baking up a loaf of Melissa Clark’s Whole Wheat Cinnamon Snacking Cake. While the cake reminded me just how much I love cinnamon, it also reminded me just how much of a problem I have with sweets. You see, when it comes to any baked good I always tell myself I’ll have just one. One cookie. One slice of cake. One scone. One, however, quickly escalates in to many more than I care to admit. This gluttony of sweets is completely acceptable, at least in my opinion, once in a while. To make this a once in a while occurrence though I have vowed to stray occasionally from my love of baking to cook up something that I could overdose on and be just fine. Thus, I present to you these carrot wraps.

I first spotted the inspiration for these wraps in the September edition of Food and Wine, which I bought to entertain myself during my summer travels. My dad informed me soon after that carrot season had already passed and it was unlikely I would find any at the farmer’s market. Apparently he was wrong because the next week, when I once again found myself meandering through the farmer’s market, there they were. Colorful, earthy baby carrots. Sold.

When it came time to finally make the wraps though I happened to be in my new apartment, which is of course grill-less. Never fear though, my recent addiction to Melissa Clark’s In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite proved useful. During my first reading of the book I had marked her recipe for Pomegranate Roasted Carrots, intrigued by the way she described them as “tangy”. Tangy seemed like the perfect complement to spicy and so, with absolutely no convincing, it was Clark’s recipe I decided to follow to prepare the carrots. I substituted balsamic vinegar for pomegranate molasses, which Clark suggests as a viable option if you find yourself without pomegranate molasses. (I don’t know about you but pomegranate molasses is not something I normally keep a stock of in my pantry.)

Roasting the carrots was somewhat of a trying experience, not because of the recipe, but rather because my fire alarm decided to be fickle. That is, it decided to go off every five minutes despite the fact that as far as I could see, and I did have my contacts in, there was zero smoke in my apartment. So, for the next thirty minutes I stood watch over the fire alarm waving my kitchen towel in front of it every time it began warning me of the non-existent fire. The result was worth it though. The carrots, tangy indeed, wrapped in a warm flour tortilla and coated with the just spicy enough cream made a pretty fabulous dinner if I do say so myself. And they may just have balanced out that cake too.

Roasted Baby Carrot Wraps with Spiced Cream

adapted from Food and Wine with carrot roasting inspiration from Melissa Clark’s In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite

I assembled one of the wraps immediately, warmed it in the oven, and gobbled it up right away. The remaining roasted carrots and spiced cream I placed in separate airtight containers and refrigerated. For quick, easy, healthy meals I just pulled the wrap components from my refrigerator, assembled, and ate cold. Leftovers are a beautiful thing!

To serve these wraps as appetizers or small plates, cut the carrots in half before roasting. Cut the tortillas in half as well and assemble the wraps as directed below. The end result will be a smaller version of the original mealtime wrap. And if you’re in need of a side dish, simply follow the recipe below for roasting the carrots and skip the wrap component entirely.

And a note on the ingredients, I used the adobo sauce from a can of “chiles in adobo sauce” I had in my fridge. You may be able to substitute chili powder or cayenne pepper for the adobo sauce if you don’t happen to have it on hand. It is a common ingredient in the Hispanic aisle of grocery stores though and can certainly be a useful ingredient to have in the pantry. Spice is always a good thing, within reason obviously.

Serves 4

25 to 30 assorted thin baby carrots, peeled

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

¼ teaspoon salt

2 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons Greek yogurt or sour cream

½ teaspoon ground cumin

½ teaspoon adobo sauce

Four 6-inch flour tortillas

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss the carrots with the oil, and salt. Spread them in a single layer. Roast for 15 minutes. Drizzle the balsamic vinegar over the carrots and stir well. Roast for an additional 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl combine the Greek yogurt or sour cream, cumin, and adobo sauce. Stir well to combine and set aside.

Spread 1/2 tablespoon of the cream on each tortilla and arrange the carrots (about 8 carrots in each wrap) in the center of the wrap. Tightly roll up the tortillas folding in the sides as you go. Place the wraps on a sheet pan and warm in the oven for one minute. Serve immediately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers and Snacks, Vegetables

Leave a Reply

