Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

Admittedly, my mom, sister, and I cooked these pancakes over a week ago. I’m behind on posts and the rest of life. That’s nothing out of the ordinary though.

So, lets rewind to last week when I went home for two days. My journey resulted primarily from the fact that I’m currently in the process of moving out of my apartment, which means moving all my stuff home. However, their were several other key factors playing in to my excursion home:

1. I had no clean clothes. That’s a lie. Let me rephrase, I had no clean clothes I wanted to wear.

2. The shower in my soon to be ex-apartment is disgusting. It was time to indulge in a long, clean shower.

3. I had no food in my apartment.

Logically, a college student would think that going home would mean a home cooked meal. False. When I asked my mom what she was planning on eating for dinner that first night she told me pita chips and hummus. My sister and I resorted to ordering sushi. The next night though was promised to be a family dinner.

No surprise when dinner time rolled around the next day and we all ended up being in different places. And thus, the quick, simple lemon ricotta pancakes were born. These pancakes are not your traditional hearty, heavy pancake. In fact, they’re the exact opposite, light and fluffy. And of course, lemony. Breakfast for dinner? What could be better?!

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

adapted (barely) from The Summertime Anytime Cookbook: Recipes from Shutters on the Beach by Dana Slatkin via Chow.com

Although the berries are listed as optional in the recipe below, in my humble opinion, they make the pancakes. I sprinkled mine with thinly sliced strawberries. I’m dying to try this recipe for the berry topping though. My prediction is pure excellence. And I’m very seldom wrong.

Makes 6 large pancakes 

4 large eggs yolks

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons grated lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon lemon extract or lemon oil

1/4 cup cake or all-purpose flour

Pinch of kosher salt

1 cup ricotta cheese

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

4 large egg whites

Canola oil or nonstick spray, for cooking

Confectioner sugar, for serving

Maple syrup, for serving

Mixed berries, optional

In a medium bowl combine the egg yolks, sugar, lemon zest, and lemon extract; whisk until light in color and aerated, about 2 minutes. Whisk in the flour and salt, then whisk in the ricotta cheese and melt butter until just incorporated.

In a mixer, whisk the egg whites to stiff peaks. Fold them in to the batter leaving pea sized pieces of egg whites. The batter can be prepared the night before and refrigerated.

Heat a griddle or a large sauté pan over medium heat and coat it lightly with oil. Pour 1/4 cup circles of batter and cook until bubbles begin to form on the tops of the pancakes and the bottoms are golden, about 2 minutes. Flip carefully and continue cooking until the pancakes are golden on the other side and dry in the middle.

Transfer the pancakes to serving plates and sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar, or keep them warm in a 200℉ oven until ready to serve. Serve with syrup and/or berries.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast and Brunch, Fruit

3 responses to “Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

  1. Rebecca Orr

    these look awesome! we need a brunch date in the fall!

  2. Audrey Sostak

    These pancakes ARE delicious any time of day. For the record, though, if anyone cares, I was having rice crackers and hummus, not pita chips!

    Yours, Jessica’s Mom

Leave a Reply

