Spiced Chipotle Honey Chicken Breasts with Sweet Potatoes

I’m contemplating a website. Yes, a real website not just a wordpress page. Or at least a better method for searching past recipes. I’d like a page that lists all of the recipes on this blog with hyperlinks directing readers to the specific post. Like this. I don’t know how to do that though. Despite being from Generation Y, technology is not my forte. Those of you who have seen me with an iPhone in hand know exactly what I’m talking about.

Before I even begin to seriously contemplate the inevitably trying task of creating a website – or rather finding someone else to do it for me – I have to survive this weekend of playing mom. That’s right, one very trusting mother has left her children in my care for the entire weekend. No, she’s not too crazy. I’m fairly responsible. I think. At the very least, I can cook a halfway decent dinner.

And that I did. When Suzanne, this “very trusting mother”, told me she had stocked the fridge with mealtime ingredients, including chicken breasts, I immediately started flipping through cookbooks and scrolling through bookmarked recipes. However, I found myself returning to a tried and true dish my roommates last quarter loved, this chicken recipe. Not being a huge meat eater, I’d never made the recipe myself, but I had snagged a bite here and there. And the verdict? Not surprisingly, this is a Melissa Clark recipe after all, fabulous. The subtle sweetness of the potatoes compliments the spice of the chipotle chiles and savory quality of the garlic making for a hearty, but not overly filling, meal.

With the chicken in the over, I turned to Plenty for vegetable inspiration, deciding to poach some carrots in white wine, maple syrup, and orange juice whisked together with ground cinnamon and clove. It was a rather orange meal, but the kids said they wanted carrots. So carrots they got. Next time I might push the spinach. Color variation in meals is good. At least, that’s what my 6th grade home economics teacher taught us. It’s one of those rare lessons that’s stuck with me. Apparently food has always been one of my top priorities.

Regardless of the meal’s color palate, there were no complaints from the kids and even a, “Can I have more chicken?”. Success. Now the question is, what’s for dinner tonight?

Spiced Chipotle Honey Chicken Breasts with Sweet Potatoes

from In the Kitchen with A Good Appetite by Melissa Clark

I like my sweet potatoes super tender. If you’re the same way roast them for 25 minutes instead of 15 before adding the chicken. Next time I make this recipe I’m going to try tossing the sweet potatoes with a little maple syrup and dijon mustard in addition to the olive oil. This might result in too many flavors going on at once or it could be absolutely delicious. Let me know if you try this before I get a chance to. Lastly, the recipe definitely has some kick to it. If you’re not the hugest spice fan, or if you’re cooking for kids, consider using only 3 chipotle chiles.

Serves 6

4 (10-ounces each) sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces

3 tablespoons olive oil

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (2 pounds), rinsed and patted dry

4 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons honey

2 teaspoons cider vinegar

1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt, plus additional to taste

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Chopped cilantro or basil, for garnish (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400° F. In a medium bowl, toss the sweet potatoes in 2 tablespoons of the olive oil and scatter on the bottom a roasting pan. Roast for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix together the remaining olive oil, chipotles, garlic, honey, vinegar, salt, cumin, and cinnamon to make a paste. Rub the paste all over the chicken. Carefully place chicken on top of the sweet potatoes and continue to roast until the chicken is just cooked through, about 25 minutes longer. Serve garnished with cilantro or basil.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poultry, Vegetables

Leave a Reply

